Discarded LoversSomewhat shoddy murder mystery clocking in at just under an hour, making it seem like a sloppily written episode of Murder, She Wrote presented via kinescope through an aquarium wall

The 1932  Tower programmer kicks off quite well with an extended shot on a Hollywood soundstage and the introduction of the murder victim: a haughty, glamourous, man-eating platinum blonde movie star fantastically played by Natalie Moorhead.

We get ugly confrontations with all the principal suspects, followed by our star’s off-camera offing, which is a shame because once Moorhead exits the picture, so does my interest. Thereafter the tone shifts awkwardly to comedy with a bumbling detective and then back to melodrama with the revelation of the killer.

Unfortunately, lackluster performances and a problematic plot sharply highlight Moorhead’s absence, making the Fred C. Newmeyer film forgettable almost from the moment it concludes.

I was almost as sad to see this dress go as I was Natalie Moorhead's character.

I was almost as sad to see this dress go as I was Natalie Moorhead’s character.

HOWEVER, my interest was briefly piqued by Jack Trent, in a bit part as the chauffeur. Actually, I think I zeroed in more on his uniform than the actor or character, though Trent is a tall and rather tempting glass of water. Please note the cut of the trousers, the bold bands of buttons on the jacket, and those fucking boots!

Also: