Barnabas may have terrorized me as a child, but Jonathan Frid’s stumbling through dialogue with his desperate paraphrasing and faulty improvisation brings me no end of delight as an adult. This snippet from March of ’68 (in the 1795 storyline) contains back-to-back treasures related to Angelique and the curse she set upon Barnabas, as explained to Joshua Collins, played by Louis Edmonds, who appears to be steering the scene the best he can, though Frid’s retorts constitute one spitball after another, whirling the conversation from vagueness into incomprehensibility.


*
I honestly don’t know where this line went wrong because there is nothing right about it:

“I myself tried to undo the risk… the curse… by …preventing it… and she will do the same!”

How many unreferenced pronouns can he pack into a single sentence? Can one undo a risk? Can one undo something by preventing it? Poor Frid. He digs himself and his cast mates into deeper graves than any plots in the nearby Eagle Hill Cemetery.

Yet even better is the aftermath – with Louis Edmonds trying valiantly to clean up the mess, as he attempts to account for this oblique “she”:

“You mean Angelique? You told me she was dead!”

No matter, Frid’s next line, “I told you I killed her; I never said she was dead” achieves an immortality that Angelique could only dream of.