*

My third entry is also my third exercise in seasonal sadness, another autumnal downer, this one from October, suggesting that the fall doesn’t get any brighter from Barbara’s Septembre. Sous la pluie is from Marc Gauvin’s second and best album, La femme légère.

Like Yves Montand in Neige sur la ville, Gauvin feels crushed by nostalgia, so much so that he feels nostalgic for the days before nostalgia!

Marc Gauvin is too clever a wordsmith for me to translate, the chief trick here being his playing with the word plu, which is the past participle for both plaire (to please) and pleuvoir (to rain). He doesn’t stick strictly to the lyrics in the booklet, but I was thankful to have them as they differentiate between plais (please) and wound (plaie) – more wordplay.

Sous la pluie
Under the Rain

(paroles: Marc Gauvin / musique: Jim Barr)
realisée par Marc Gauvin (2001)

Octobre me rapelle
October reminds me of
Le chaos des jours sans
The chaos of days without
Nostalgie
Nostalgia

Sous la pluie
Under the rain
Tu m’a plu
I liked you
J’en pouvais plus d’aller
I could have gone farther (?)
Seulement sous la pluie
Only under the rain
Il pleuva (-ait?)
It was raining
Mais tu m’a plu comme jamais
But I liked you like never (before?)
N’aura plu la pluie
The rain will never rain down

Tu as jeté mes larmes, Love
You’ve thrown away my tears, Love
Dans le tourbillon de la vie
In the whirlwind of live
Cup of tea
Cup of tea

Sous la pluie
Under the rain
Tu m’as plu
I liked you
Et toi Nora jamais
And you Nora never
Tu ne m’as deplu depuis
You haven’t displeased me since
Tu me plais
you pleased me
Et tu me plais
And you pleased me
Comme jamais pleuvra la pluie
Like the rain will never rain down

Les déluges d’automne
The floods of autumn
M’emportaient rock bottom
Carried me down to rock bottom
Jusqu’à toi
Right to you

Sous la pluie
Under the rain
Tu m’as plu
I liked you
Je voulais plus de ce sale temps
I wanted more of these dirty times
Saloperie que s’oublie
Forgotten filth
Il pleuva (-ait?)
It was raining
J’en pouvais plus d’aller
I could go for more
Salement seul sous la pluie
Dirty alone under the rain
Tu m’a plu
I liked you
Et toi Nora jamais
And you Nora never
Tu ne m’as deplu depuis
You haven’t displeased me since
Tu me plaie
You wound me
Et tu me plais comme jamais
And you wound me like never before
Ne pleuvra la pluie
The rain will never rain down