*

Part of my 2014 agenda is to concentrate on lyrics in French songs more closely. To keep me focused on my goal, I will aim for at least one song per week transcribed and translated into English and/or Spanish. If someone happens upon this post and wants to give any feedback regarding translation, I welcome any help!

To kick off, I am going with my all-time favorite French singer, Yves Montand, and a sad, wintry chanson to match the current season.

Neige sur la ville
Snow on the Town

(Jacques Larue / Philippe Gérard)
realisée par Yves Montand (4 mars 1954)

La neige tombe sur la ville,
Snow falls on the town,
Le brouillard tombe sur mon cœur,
Fog falls upon my heart,
Les gens s’en vont d’un pas tranquille,
People pass by in tranquility,
Emmitouflés dans leurs bonnets.
Bundled up in their hats.

Et moi je tourne dans la rue
And I turn in the street
Comme un manège sans enfants
Like a carousel without children
Dont la musique disparue
Whose vanished music
S’amuse encore avec le vent.
Still plays along with the wind.

Et je revois dans le chaud de l’été
And I see again in the summer heat
Le tourbillon d’une robe jolie
The whirl of a pretty dress
Et sur mon bras qui la cherche à côté
And on my arm that searches for her alongside (?)
Je sens sa taille qui plie.
I feel her waist bend.

Que voulez-vous que je vous dise ?
What do you want me to tell you?
Je n’en connais pas de pareil
I know of none other the same
Qu’elle est jolie la neige grise
That the grey snow is pretty
Lorsque le cœur a du soleil !
So long as the heart has sun!

Je vois des ombres qui s’accrochent
I see shadows hanging
Dans la lumière des bistrots
In the light of the bistros
Allez-y donc la nuit s’approche
Go on – night is coming
Sur terre on n’aime jamais trop.
On this earth we cannot love too much.

La neige tombe sur la ville,
Snow falls on the town,
Le brouillard tombe sur mon cœur,
Fog falls upon my heart,
Les gens s’en vont d’un pas tranquille,
People pass by in tranquility,
Emmitouflés dans leurs bonnets.
Bundled up in their hats.

Et moi je tourne dans la rue
And I turn in the street
Comme un manège sans enfants
Like a carousel without children
Dont la musique disparue
Whose vanished music
S’amuse encore avec le vent.
Plays along with the wind.

Et je revois au creux de l’oreiller
And I see again in the hollow of the pillow
Le matin clair s’éveiller dans ses yeux
The clear morning awakening in her eyes
Vous prétendez qu’il vaut mieux l’oublier,
You claim that it’s better to forget her,
Je ne demande pas mieux…
I ask for no better…

Que voulez-vous que je vous dise ?
What do you want me to tell you?
La neige fond sous le soleil
Snow melts under the sun
Pour l’effacer deux jours suffisent
It takes but two days to wash away
Mais le chagrin c’est pas pareil !
But grief is not the same!