Much has been made of the shocking tweets about the race of the girl who portrayed Rue. It has been discussed plenty so I won’t go into detail. But I am referring to the slew of racist tweets from angry idiots that a black actor played Rue even though her character in the book is described as being “dark-skinned”. I am not aware of any official comment made by Suzanne Collins on this topic. While I can appreciate that she would not want to add fuel to this ugly fire, I think only she has the clout to tell these dummies to shove it. As Doris W. said, “It was disheartening.”

Indeed, I don’t know which was more appalling to me – the lazy readers who did not comprehend what “dark-skinned” means or the fact that race has very little, if anything, to do with the Hunger Games characters and that any color would have served as well as any other for these characters. Except for one.

WHY WAS BUTTERCUP BLACK AND WHITE IN
THE HUNGER GAMES  MOVIE?


Now, maybe I’m obsessing here but it’s been bugging the crap out of me. I was prepared for edits and changes but I got a jolt when I saw not an orange tabby but a black and white kitty. That’s not my Buttercup.

 

I will come clean and say that I liked the movie, I did not love it. I do love the books. I do not understand all the choices made in the adaptation – why didn’t they establish Haymitch in District 12 at the Reaping? What was up with his bare foot on Peeta on the train? Why was there hand-held in District 12? And what was up with Haymitch’s hair? Ok so I have a lot of Haymitch issues. But those are choices I feel could be defended and explained by the filmmakers even if I don’t agree with them. I do not feel any argument could justify making an orange cat a black and white cat.

Now let’s not get nutty here. I have nothing against black and white cats. I am a cat person. I love cats – all cats. Doris W. calls me the cat whisperer. I know the importance of that cat in the Everdeen household and I expect it to be cast appropriately. Buttercup’s name is explained in the book:

“Prim named him Buttercup, insisting that his muddy yellow coat matched the bright flower.”

Buttercup’s name has meaning and is used to help flesh out Prim’s character. Prim is a gentle soul who sees the beauty in all around her. Having Prim name a black and white cat Buttercup makes her goofy or kind of dim. I don’t like it. And I don’t understand it. Is there an embargo on orange cats in Hollywood? Are black and white cats underused in film? Do orange cats have a bad reputation in the film industry? Has Lindsay Lohan ruined it for all the gingers, even across species? Was an orange cat originally cast but pulled out last minute due to scheduling conflicts and the only other available cat on the face of the earth was black and white? Well?!?

This seems like easy math:

Buttercup = orange cat in the book = orange cat in the movie

Perhaps this is just another example of how Hollywood makes an incredibly bad decision that everyone could have called a mile away. And now some cute kitties to show I my love for cats is ecumenical.