I recently found out that Gary Ross is out as director for any Hunger Games sequels. The names of a few directors in the running reported by the LA Times are Alfonso Cuaron, David Cronenberg and Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu. I really like all these directors but there was one name that immediately popped into my head when I heard the director’s chair was open – Kathryn Bigelow.

I have been a Kathryn Bigelow fan since Near Dark, one of my favorite vampire movies. It was the first vampire movie I saw that portrayed vamps not as gorgeous glam sophisticates but rather just a gang of trashy thugs. It’s visceral, darkly funny and has a great energy. I was into it and I was surprised it was directed by a woman. It made such an impression that I suspected and have been proven correct that Kathryn Bigelow is a badass.

KB’s filmography has plenty of evidence that she could totally handle this gig:
War, politics – The Hurt Locker, K-9: The Widowmaker
Eye for casting – I believe she cast Bill Paxton and Lance Henrikson in Near Dark before they were in ex-husband James Cameron’s Aliens
Great cameos – The Hurt Locker
Tricky love plot – The Weight of Water
Bit of the sci-fi – Strange Days
Knows her way around an action sequence and violence – all the above

I’m not saying I’m in love with all her movies but I can’t say that about any of the other directors under consideration either. Of course, the bonus would be to have a great female director for a series of films that have a great female character. But that’s really not my point.

She has an Oscar now so she has credibility, she’s got a CV made for The Hunger Games and have you seen her? I want to see her standing next to Jennifer Lawrence! I think she would get Suzanne Collins’ approval. She’s got cred, does not make stereotypical female films, isn’t a typical celebrity type and can handle the heavy stuff. Think of Mockingjay and The Hurt Locker and tell me this doesn’t make sense. Katniss is a badass, doesn’t she deserve a badass director?